The Ohio Association of Civil Trial Attorneys (OACTA) Law Student Diversity Scholarship program is open to incoming second and third-year African American, Hispanic, Asian, Pan Asian and Native American students enrolled at Ohio law schools. Incoming second and third-year female law students enrolled at Ohio law schools are also eligible regardless of race or ethnicity.

Other criteria for the scholarship include:

  • Academic achievement in law school;
  • Professional interest in civil defense practice; and
  • Service to community and to the cause of diversity;

Up to three (3) scholarships in the amount of $1,250 each will be awarded to successful applicants. Applicants are required to submit an application, law school transcript and a cover letter addressing the following: academic, personal and professional accomplishments, and why they should be selected as a recipient of the scholarship. Applicants may submit up to three letters of recommendation.

The completed application and all other requested material must be received by April 21, 2017. Late or incomplete applications will not be considered.

Scholarship recipients will be announced in June and recognized at the OACTA Annual Meeting in November.

Diversity Scholarship Recipients

2011 Recipients
Brandon Cox
Amrita Anna Sanyal

2012 Recipients

Angela J. Glaser
Alisha L. Hall

2013 Recipients
Marissa Black
Alya Sulaiman
Patrice Tisdale

2014 Recipients
Frederick D. Cruz
Michael Elliott
Candice S. Thomas

2015 Recipients
Rujeko Manungo
Ikechukwu Ekeke

2016 Recipients
Emily Kerber
David A. Lopez-Kurtz
Kelsey M. Schiffer