The "Excellence in Advocacy Award" is designed to honor lawyers who have distinguished themselves over a number of years by their professionalism, intelligence, creativity, judgment, personality, sensitivity, civility, advocacy skills, community involvement, efforts to educate newer attorneys, and effective representation of their clients both in and outside of the courtroom. It also recognizes contributions beyond their normal roles as an advocate.

This honor may be made to a present and/or former practicing attorney who has served as a pillar of the bar. The Excellence in Advocacy Award will be presented to the recipient or a member of the recipient's family, or other representative (if the recipient is deceased or cannot otherwise be in attendance) at the OACTA Annual Meeting.

Award criteria

  • A reputation for representing clients effectively;
  • Demonstrated advocacy skills;
  • A reputation for professionalism and civility;
  • Good judgment in the preparation of trial matters and appeals;
  • Civic, community and bar activities.
  • Candidates must have practiced law for at least 25 years (or in the case of present or past member of the judiciary, at least 15 years) and meet (or have met during the time practiced) OACTA eligibility requirements. It is not necessary that the nominee be currently living and/or practicing law or be a member of OACTA.

Past Recipients

  • 2015 - Carolyn A. Taggart, Esq.
  • 2014 - James R. Gallagher, Esq.
  • 2013 - Irene Keyse Walker, Esq.
  • 2012 - W. Roger Fry
  • 2011 - Rick E. Marsh, Esq.
  • 2010 - David C. Greer, Esq.
  • 2009 - Ronald A. Rispo, Esq.

Nomination Information

Download the 2017 Award Nomination Form (PDF)

Submit Nominations
There are two ways to submit nominations:

  • Email: OACTA@AssnOffices
  • Mail to: OACTA, Attn: Debbie Nunner, Executive Director,  
    17 South High St., Suite 200 Columbus, OH 43215

Additional Information
If you have any questions, please contact the Awards Committee Chair:

  • Gregory O'Brien