OACTA Announces 2017 Law Student Diversity Scholarship Recipients

OACTA Announces 2017 Law Student Diversity Scholarship Recipients 

Three (3) OACTA Law Student Diversity Scholarships, each in the amount of $1,250, have been awarded to:  Jeffery Carr, a student at Cleveland-Marshall College of Law, Shana Marks, a student at The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law, and Larae Schraeder, a student at Capital University Law School.  These three students will be recognized at the OACTA Annual Meeting on November 16, 2017 at the Hilton Cleveland Downtown. 

OACTA Law Student Diversity Scholarships are open to incoming second and third-year African American, Hispanic, Asian, Pan Asian and Native American students enrolled at Ohio law schools. Incoming second and third-year female law students enrolled at Ohio law schools are also eligible regardless of race or ethnicity.  Other criteria for the scholarship included: Academic achievement in law school; Professional interest in civil defense practice; and Service to community and to the cause of diversity.  

Funding for these scholarships is provided by The OACTA Foundation. The OACTA Foundation, established in 2016, is organized exclusively for charitable and educational purposes, funding projects consistent with the mission of OACTA. 

OACTA believes that a diverse membership makes a stronger organization. OACTA encourages diversity in all aspects of its activities and is committed to nurturing a culture that supports and promotes diversity.  OACTA has been nationally recognized as a recipient of the DRI State and Local Defense Organization Diversity Award. 

Congratulations to this year’s scholarship recipients!  Thank you to OACTA’s Diversity Committee, Chaired by Hilary S. Taylor and John M. Hands, for their efforts on this worthwhile initiative!

OACTA thanks all of our web sponsors!